I’m Becoming More Comfortable Talking to People!

Hello!

What a crazy week this has been! Elder Byrd fell sick on Monday night, and we were cooped inside on Tuesday and Wednesday. That kind of inactivity can drive a missionary insane, so I spent a lot of time doing things that needed to be done around the house; made calls, and did a lot of personal study. I took this as an opportunity to look inside, and turn to God for answers to some of the deeper matters of my soul, about enduring to the end. I felt a very distinct answer, and an admonition to read my patriarchal blessing. I did so very thoughtfully, and it provided more answers to my questions that I hadn’t considered before. Looking back on the week, I can see my study journal is full of very valuable insight, specifically for me.
I have also learned so much about being an effective missionary from those around me. I want to recognize a wonderful ward missionary, named Evan, who told me early in the week, “You don’t need to sacrifice what isn’t needed,” which helped me to feel more confident in my efforts then later in the week. As he was helping us exchange back with the Yorktown elders, he showed his great example of being willing to talk to everyone. We were doing yard work for one of the Yorktown elders’ investigators, and he saw that we could use a hammer. Faithfully, he went door to door, undeterred by the awkwardness, and asked everyone if they had a hammer we could borrow and if they would like to meet us! He came back in a few minutes, with a woman who told us this was the strangest thing anyone had asked of her. To which he responded, “I’m just not afraid to talk to people!” The woman showed appreciation for what we were doing and showed interest in meeting the missionaries again to give them more service to do!
I’m becoming more comfortable talking to people! We have talked to just about everyone we see every day! I am starting to feel such a greater love for people! Something which confirms something I read in my patriarchal blessing. Read here for more information on Patriarchal Blessings I am really learning to follow Jesus’ example by becoming a servant!
Just so you all know, I am still a huge nerd! Elder Byrd and I have some Legend of Zelda music which we listen to sometimes, and we love to connect with people we meet who have similar intersts! (We even got the Breath of the Wild soundtrack from Elder Byrd’s little brother!)
Have a great summer!
-Elder Samuel Runyan

2 Nephi 2:25 Adam fell that men might be; and men are, that they might have joy.

Exodus 3:16 (footnote b) – study material on God visiting His children
(I included a picture of some spaghetti I made which I was proud of because I put some sauteed onions and mushrooms in)
SAM_0273.JPG
Leave a Reply

