Be Not Weary in Well-Doing

Hey y’all!

Really, my big question from this week was knowing how far we should go on teaching people when they aren’t progressing. That has been a hard question to answer, and I’m still trying to understand what the Lord’s plans are for all these people. I’m not really sure where to start with this week, so I’ll just go day by day.
Monday:
We went fishing with our Branch Mission Leader! He is awesome! We didn’t catch any fish, but it was fun. Later that day, we taught an investigator we haven’t been able to see in a while! I was about to give up on them, but I guess the Spirit had other plans.
Tuesday:
We had some appointments fall through today (as usual,) but when that happened we asked the member with us if we could help him do his home teaching. We were able to see a less-active member who the sister missionaries have been struggling to get up with and the member with us shared his conversion story. It was awesome!
Wednesday:
We met another investigator I’ve been thinking about dropping. He went off as he did before, but I really tried to recognize that he is just saying these things out of a lack of understanding. He claims to believe only in the Bible but has not read it. We very carefully explained how the Bible and Book of Mormon testify of Jesus Christ together. I think I saw a little spark in him. We were also talking about dropping an investigator who has had a baptismal date before, (I’ve talked about her in the past,) because she has continually told us she would come to church every week, but still has not come. We didn’t end up dropping her.
Thursday:
We had a super fun Plan of Salvation lesson with the less active family we’ve been working with. I used the kit someone gave me as a gift before I came out on my mission. The mom wants her kids to learn these things, so she is studying them on her own so she can teach them. We also found a new investigator from random tracting today!
Friday:
I was on exchange with Elder Oldroyd! The new investigator from yesterday didn’t answer the door, but we taught the family with a bunch of teenagers. They seemed to actually be listening this time, and we were able to count them as investigators.
Saturday:
Still no answer from the new investigator, but such is missionary life. We got an oil change in New Bern this morning. There was some problems setting up the appointment, so we spent a little more time there then expected. We went out with the New Bern elders and did some service!
Sunday:
I learned an important lesson from one of our members in the branch presidency. He took us out to give a member a blessing. I won’t go into the details of that meeting because it was very personal, she declined the blessing. The member shared D&C 64:33 which says “be not weary in well-doing.” That was a really profound scripture, not just for the visit, but for my whole week; working with less-actives, recent converts, and investigators who are not progressing, but we keep going back because we love them, and we want to help them. There was a very short turnout in church, and none of our investigators or RCLAs came which got me pretty down, but I don’t have to understand the Lord’s purposes in these things as long as I keep trying. I also learned that I need to be more attentive for opportunities to teach and serve new people, because even if we keep trying with the old ones, that doesn’t mean we should only focus on them.
Sorry for the long letter! Pretty much just spewed out my thoughts that I tend to have as a missionary. Hope y’all are doing well!
-Elder Samuel Runyan
Leave a Reply

