Service is the Best!

Hey’all!

This week was pretty much awesome! Thank you Dad for sending that quote from President Hinckley about optimism last week!
As a missionary in England, Elder Hinckley worked hard to follow his parents’ counsel. He and his companions shook hands each morning and told each other, “Life is good.”4 Almost 70 years later, he suggested that a group of missionaries in the Philippines follow the same practice. “Yesterday was a great day in my life,” he told them. “Every day is a great day in my life. I hope every day is a great day in your lives—every one of you. I hope you can get ready to go in the morning and shake the hand of your companion and say, ‘Brother (Sister), life is good. Let’s go out and have a good day.’ And when you come in at night, I hope you can say to one another, ‘It’s been a good day. We’ve had a good time. We’ve helped somebody along the way. … We’ll follow up with them and pray and hope that they will come into the Church.’ Every day ought to be a good day in the mission field.”5
That has been a big motivator for me! I Just love this mission and everything about it! This week we’ve had some great experiences working with members. The sisters and we have been fasting and praying to know how to help this branch, and I’ve had some amazing spiritual experiences from that, confirming to me why I am out here on a mission.
Our Elders Quorum President, Brother Kukahiko is awesome! He went out with us on Monday and we visited some less active members. He is a great missionary, and shared his testimony well! He has that attitude of being helpful the way missionaries are. This branch may have its struggles, but the members here are some of the most missionary minded I’ve seen! We worked with Brother Kukahiko to get the Branch’s FHE nights going again. The members really liked when we did them, and they were a lot of fun! We are helping plan for it.
We got a couple new investigators this week. One of them was pretty interested; the other one we dropped shortly after he became an investigator. The whole lesson he was trying to tell us why we were wrong, and we didn’t want to get into bible bashing, so I asked, “Have you felt spiritually uplifted during this visit?” and he said no, so we decided he didn’t have much desire to change. A lot of appointments with our investigators fell through, but I think that gave us a chance to re-evaluate our approach to missionary work. We want to try working more closely with members so they can develop more trust and confidence in us, and we can uplift them more.
This week we did a lot of service for people; which was awesome! We dug up a bush for someone, cleaned out someone’s shed, helped someone move, and just did little things like smile and talk to people. When we are serving, I can feel so much more love for people, and they become a lot more open and trusting with us. We also had to do a training in Zone meeting and taught a lesson in church. We were kind of feeling blocked as we were preparing for these, but we felt the Spirit’s guidance very strongly as we taught, and those we taught were able to learn a lot by the Spirit as well as ourselves! The missionaries in our zone were able to receive revelation for how to resolve their investigators’ concerns, and our Sunday class learned a lot about sacrifice. That concept of sacrifice and the Law of Consecration has meant a lot to me, because I’ve realized how little I can offer to the Lord compared to what he’s given me. Despite this, I will give as much as I can, because I know what incomparable joy it brings! I know that Jesus Christ is our Savior, and I love the opportunity I have to wear His name on my chest!
I hope y’all are doing well!
– Elder Runyan
These are pictures of my old planner versus my new one. It’s crazy how beat up they get!
Leave a Reply

